Made by hand

As I age, I realize more and more both I and others want less “stuff.” I’ve focused more on making things for others, and when I can’t, I seek others who can make something unique.
A few months ago, I experimented with doing a Japanese-style Roasted Barley Tea. It was a great way to explore beverage options with locally grown barley. It dawned on me recently that it could be bagged, tied with a decorative ribbon and given as a gift. I was playing around with some Roasted Barley Tea I prepared, earlier today and made a twist on a chai.

Roasted Barley Chai

1-1/2 cups 1% milk
1 tsp Coal Lake Honey Farms mixed honey
1 cinnamon stick
3 or 4 whole cloves
1 tsp crushed dried chilli flakes
1-1/2 Tbsp Roasted Barley Tea

In a small pot, heat the milk, honey, cinnamon, cloves and chillis until just simmering. Take off the heat and allow to steep for 20 minutes. Strain off the spices, put the spiced milk back on the heat. When it has come to a simmer again, add the barley tea, remove from the heat and steep for 5 minutes. Strain off the barley tea and serve in a mug. Serves 1.

Leave a Reply

