Compassionate Gathering

When bringing together family and friends, my immediate thought is, “What can I make extra to add to their pleasure of their visit?” While visiting my brother and his family for Christmas, I found out several of his friends will be joining us for dinner. I did some baking for my brother and his family but thought I’d do more with my 9 year old niece.
We had fun playing with chocolate by doing this easy recipe for Peanut Butter Fingers that I posted in an earlier post. She spent all day asking, “Can we form the mixture into fingers? Can we dip it in chocolate? Are they ready to eat?”
I smiled at her exuberance, thinking that passion mirrored my own. Wanting to see the next step. Wanting to taste the result of your labour. I also thought of how else to share while walking through one of Calgary’s farmers markets today. My sister-in-law asked to get some vegetables for side dishes and besides some carrots and other things, I picked up some Brussels sprouts and a locally produced beef bacon. The recipe I’m planning is something I’ve done with bison bacon before. Both are done in more of a back bacon style, so they’re quite lean, more like a ham. I’ll be doing this recipe I’ve done at a number of family gatherings and for myself.

Pan-Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Beef Bacon

1 Tbsp Mighty Trio Organics cold pressed canola oil
1 cup Riverbend Gardens red onion, thickly sliced
1 tsp dried red chilli flakes
450g/1lb Brussels sprouts, halved with the core cut off
225g(1/2lb) Hoven Farms beef bacon or Medicine Man Bison bison bacon, thickly sliced
1/2 cup chicken or vegetable stock

In a large pot, heat the oil over medium high heat. Add the onions and chilli flakes and sauté until the onions are softened and the chilli flakes become intensely aromatic. Add the halved Brussels sprouts and sauté, stirring occasionally, until the Brussels sprouts start to slightly brown (about 8-10 minutes). Add the chicken stock, reduce the heat to medium and add the beef bacon. Simmer with occasional stirring for a further 10 minutes until the Brussels sprouts are softer and most of the liquid has reduced. Serves 4 as a side. If you double the recipe, be mindful of the amount of chilli. Add just a little more if doubling the recipe to ensure a pleasant spiciness without being overwhelming.

4 comments

  1. Suzanne Dennis · December 23, 2012

    sounds delish!
    i am carting my serben turkey on the bus with me tonite for dinner in calgary on tues! have a wonderful dinner and some good times with family & friends.
    thanks for your posts – i have enjoyed every SINGLE one!
    cheers
    su 🙂

    • tripleheartbeat · December 23, 2012

      Thanks Su! My brother is reeeeally enjoying how I brought the cold and snow with me. lol Enjoy your big bird!

      • Suzanne Dennis · December 24, 2012

        ha ha….it is COLD here in #yyc. yikes
        we are going to make your brussels sprout recipe for dinner tomorrow
        i CANNOT wait
        cheers
        su 🙂

      • tripleheartbeat · December 24, 2012

        Awesome! Have fun! And have a great Christmas!

Leave a Reply

