Mustard Thyme Roast Chicken Breast

   When I first started making my own mustard, I was working at a fish shop. We were a part of the downtown farmer’s market and a fellow vendor had a grill cart for his bison. He asked if I could make him mustard since he was already using homemade relish from another vendor. I looked at the back of a typical French’s brand mustard and thought, “Easy.” My only difference with my recipe versus most recipes, I don’t cook the blended mix either directly in a pot or over a double boiler. I keep it raw. This makes for a more intensely flavoured mustard. I also keep the grains somewhat granular so it has a more interesting texture. For the recipe see here.

   The other day I decided to pull a whole chicken out of the freezer, but instead of roasting it whole, or making soup, which I like to do regularly, I butchered the chicken into its subsequent parts. I cut off the legs (with thigh attached), the wings and cut the breast off with the bone still in. Today I’ll show how I did a simple roasted whole chicken breast with a mustard rub. Then tomorrow I’ll post a recipe of what I did with the legs and wings. If you aren’t confident in butchering your own chicken, any number of good butchers in Edmonton (or where ever you may be) can certainly custom cut to whatever you like. In Edmonton, there are great butchers at Acme Meat Market, D’Arcy’s Meats, or Ben’s Meats to name a few.

Mustard Thyme Whole Roast Chicken Breast

For the marinade:

1-750g/24oz whole bone-in, skin-on Sunshine Organic chicken breast

1/4 cup homemade mustard (or your favourite bold grainy mustard)

1 cup Bles-Wold sour cream

2 Tbsp Morinville Greenhouses fresh thyme leaves

   In a large freezer bag, combine the mustard, sour cream and fresh thyme. Set in a medium bowl. Place the chicken breast in the marinade, seal the bag shut and massage the chicken with the marinade. Refrigerate for 2 hours.

To prepare the Roast Chicken:

1 medium August Organics yellow onion, peeled and coarsely chopped

2 stalks celery, coarsely chopped

3 August Organics carrots, coarsely chopped

1 cup water

   Preheat oven to 190C/375F.

   In a 25cm/10″ square cake pan, scatter the coarsely chopped vegetables over the bottom. Add the water. Wipe off most of the excess marinade, leaving some of it streaked over the breast and lay it skin side up on the prepared vegetables.

Image

   Roast the chicken in the preheated oven on the middle rack for 50-60 minutes or until it becomes a deeper golden colour.

Image

   Allow the roasted chicken breast to rest for 10-15 minutes and carve each half of the breast away from the breast bone. Slice each half into 2cm/1″ thick slices and serve with steamed green beans for a light dinner. Serves 2.

Image

 

Leave a Reply

