Cherry Radish Fattoush Salad with Rhubarb Cilantro Dressing

   I was very excited this past weekend when a local market had fresh cherries. The particular cherries I found were of the sweet variety since the sour cherries tend to ripen later in the summer. Whenever there is a bounty of fruit in the summer, I like to incorporate them into savoury dishes. Don’t get me wrong, desserts are fun. I’m probably baking a cherry-rhubarb pie with some of the cherries, but sometimes, I like to do something a little different.

I get inspired by the freshness of an ingredient and something random in my refrigerator. I found some leftover flatbreads I had made a few days ago and an idea struck me: pitted cherries look vaguely like olives so I thought of doing a twist on a Lebanese fattoush salad. Normally a blend of tomato, cucumber, olives, herbs and toasted pita pieces, I thought that cherries and radishes would compliment each other in this style of salad. With a quick rhubarb and cilantro dressing, the idea came together smoothly.

Cherry Radish Fattoush Salad with Rhubarb Cilantro Dressing

For the Rhubarb Cilantro Dressing:

1/4 cup Honey Rhubarb Compote

2 Tbsp fresh cilantro, roughly torn

1/4 cup Mighty Trio Organics cold pressed canola oil

Salt and pepper, to taste

   Whisk together the Honey Rhubarb Compote, cilantro and oil with a fork and season lightly with salt and pepper. Set aside.

For the Cherry Radish Fattoush:

1-15cm(6″) wheat flatbread (I use homemade, but a wheat pita will work as well)

15-20 Walker’s Own Orchard cherries, halved and pitted

10-12 Sparrow’s Nest Organic Farm radishes, thinly sliced

2 August Organics green onions, finely sliced

   Preheat oven to 180C/350F.

   Place the flatbread directly on the lower rack of the preheated oven and toast until lightly golden (about 10-12 minutes).

   In a medium bowl, add the cherries, radishes, green onions and the toasted flatbread cracked into several rough 4cm/2″ chunks. Toss with half of the prepared dressing. (Reserve the rest of the dressing for another use). Serves 2-3 as a side or starter.

 

IMG_3988

Leave a Reply

