Shaved Zucchini Salad with Gooseberries

From the time I could eat semi-solid food, zucchini was always my favourite vegetable. My dad had an enormous garden filled with all kinds of beautiful vegetables. I remember sitting in the dirt watching it grow each day: the leaves getting bigger, the first flowers appearing and finally tiny little zucchini appearing and even the giant club-like ones that later became loaf or cake were amazing to me. My mum usually fried them simply with onions and I’d eat them by the bowlful like other kids ate sugary cereal.
It’s still my favourite way to prepare zucchini, but today I didn’t want to heat up the kitchen so I decided to shave some baby zucchini and marinate it in a tart gooseberry purée.
To shave zucchini doesn’t require a fancy mandolin slicer or samurai-like knife skills. Just a simple vegetable peeler.

IMG_4238

After shaving a few baby zucchini, the salad is easy.

Shaved Zucchini Salad with Gooseberries

4 baby zucchini, shaved (yields about 2 cups)
12-15 gooseberries
1/2 tsp rice vinegar

Purée the gooseberries and vinegar roughly with a few pulses of a food processor. Spread the zucchini slices in a large lasagna dish or other non-reactive pan. Massage the zucchini with the rough gooseberry purée and allow to marinate for 30 minutes.

IMG_4241

After marinating, lightly toss with your fingers and serve. Serves 2-3.

IMG_4245

Leave a Reply

