Creamy Kohlrabi and Sweet Pea Slaw

What is becoming my Thursday tradition when it comes to planning my Summer of Salads, I go to the neighbourhood market, 124th Grand Market. I don’t have a fixed idea of what Thursday’s salad will be. Other days I may think throughout the day and have more of an idea. I let the market inspire me with the shifting seasonality of vegetables.
I was perusing the bounty at Sparrows Nest Organics and he had so many amazing fruit and vegetables from his farm: raspberries, beets, green onions, cherry tomatoes, cucumber, edible pod peas, along with gigantic kohlrabi and two kinds of carrots.
I know I just did a salad yesterday on my blog involving carrots but the orange and white carrots were too amazing to pass up and immediately went into my plans tonight:

IMG_4454

Yesterday’s salad was bright with tart rhubarb and vinegar’s freshness. Tonight I wanted a creamy dressing when I saw fresh dill and spring onions at the market. They went into some sour cream and the slaw evolved naturally.

Creamy Kohlrabi and Sweet Pea Slaw

For the Creamy Dill Dressing:

1/3 cup sour cream
2 Tbsp fresh dill, finely chopped
2 green onions, finely chopped
1/2 tsp salt

In a small bowl, whisk together the sour cream, dill, green onion and salt. Set aside.

For the slaw:

3/4 cup edible pod peas, finely sliced
1 cup carrots (if you have multiple coloured ones, great, if not, regular orange carrots are great), julienned
1 cup kohlrabi, peeled, julienned
Reserved Creamy Dill Dressing

In a medium bowl, combine the peas, carrots, kohlrabi and dressing. Fold together with your fingers until uniformly combined. Refrigerate for an hour. Serves 2.

IMG_4456

3 comments

  1. Dana Fashina · August 2, 2014

    That looks real f’in good.
    Shit.

    • tripleheartbeat · August 2, 2014

      Thanks! And the dressing ended up tasting like a homemade ranch dressing. I’ve been using the leftovers like a veggie dip 🙂

Leave a Reply

