Steak Taco Salad with Grilled Peach Pico de Gallo

   While thinking about what to make for dinner (and tonight’s salad), I started with a beautiful ribeye steak that I’d picked up the other day. I thought I’d do fajitas, so I started to make flatbreads. Regular tortillas are okay, but I prefer to make my own flatbreads, which are softer, more pillowy and I end up with leftovers that I can bake into chips or make quesadillas.

   As I was rolling out each flatbread, it gave me time to think and formulate my salad. As I rolled my last flatbread and griddled them, I decided to make a taco salad with peach pico de gallo. While grilling the steak, I put all of the pico de gallo ingredients on there with it and by the time the steak was done and resting, I could quickly assemble the pico de gallo. An easy solution to a dinner dilemma.

Steak Taco Salad with Grilled Peach Pico de Gallo

For the Grilled Peach Pico de Gallo:

1 Tbsp cold pressed canola oil

1 peach, halved and pitted

3 green onions

1 small red bell pepper

1 jalapeno pepper

1/4 tsp salt

   Preheat a grill to medium high heat. Drizzle oil over the peach halves, green onions, bell pepper and jalapeno. Grill for 12-14 minutes or until golden on all sides. Remove from the grill and allow to cool for a few minutes. Peel the peach, chop all of the ingredients roughly and toss together in a medium bowl. Add the salt and toss again gently. Set aside.

For the salad:

1-225g/8oz beef ribeye steak (or strip loin/New York strip if you’d rather)

1/2 tsp salt

2-15cm/6″ flatbreads

1/2 cup mixed greens

2 Tbsp feta cheese

2 Tbsp sour cream or Greek yogurt

Reserved Grilled Peach Pico de Gallo

   Preheat a grill to medium high heat. Grill the steak to desired doneness (10-12 minutes total for a medium to medium well steak). Take off the grill and allow to rest for 7-10 minutes. Grill the flatbreads for 2-3 minutes per side.

   To serve, lay a grilled flatbread in the centre of two plates. Spread a little bit of sour cream in the centre of each flatbread. Add a small handful of mixed green on top of the sour cream. Spread some Grilled Peach Pico de Gallo over the middle of the mound of mixed greens. Cut the steak into 1cm (1/2″) thick slices and top the pico de gallo. Sprinkle with feta cheese and a little bit more pico de gallo on top for garnish. Serves 2.

IMG_4832

For a recipe to my homemade flatbreads, see here. Today I used 100% spelt flour in the recipe.

Leave a Reply

