Maple Peach Fruit Salad

   I have been craving waffles all week. For one reason or another, life gets busy and I didn’t get the time to make them. And if you’ve read this blog for any length of time, I’m not about to buy a box of frozen ones and put them in a toaster. Doing them yourself is easy and you could make extra to freeze and toast on your own. I just use one of the recipes that came in the manual for my waffle maker. I just use spelt flour instead of all-purpose flour.

   I also have fruit overflowing from my fridge. It’s gotten to the point that if it sits any longer, I’ll have to make cocktails with them. But in that interim between fruit and fermented fruity booze, I thought I’d make a fruit salad. And since fruit and waffles go together like clams and tomatoes (it’s a Canadian thing), I made them together.

   Anyways…I added sweetness and dimension to some tart, sweet peaches by cooking it down with maple syrup and folded it into a pile of fruit. Any fruit would work fine, especially if there’s an overabundance!

   Cheers to breakfast for dinner!

Maple Peach Fruit Salad

For the Maple Peach Dressing:

2 peaches, pitted and roughly chopped

1/2 cup amber maple syrup (and use real maple syrup or, somewhere, a nice Quebecois man will sob into a maple leaf)

   Place the chunks of peaches into a blender and purée until smooth. Add the purée into a small pot with the maple syrup. Bring to a simmer over medium high heat. After 3-4 minutes, a bubbly film will settle on the surface. Skim it off with a spoon and reduce the heat to medium. Simmer for a further 10 minutes to reduce and thicken slightly. Set aside to cool completely (if you’re in a rush, place in your freezer for an hour to cool. You don’t want to add a hot liquid to delicate fresh fruit).

For the salad:

4 cups fresh fruit (I used cored/chopped apples, nectarines, plums, and whole grapes)

Reserved Maple Peach Dressing

   In a large bowl, fold together the fruit and Maple Peach Dressing until well combined and all of the fruit is lightly coated. It can be enjoyed on its own or on top of waffles, or for breakfast with yogurt and granola. Serves 3-4.

IMG_4885

2 comments

  1. Ema Jones · September 3, 2014

    Yummy Maple Peach Dressing ❤ ❤
    I would love to have a scoop of vanilla ice-cream with this 😛

Leave a Reply

