Quick Chicken Tikka

When I made my own Sweet Curry Paste yesterday, I had some leftover and subsequently started thinking of what I could do with it. While out doing my regular farmer’s market shopping, an idea occurred to me: Combine the curry paste with yogurt, marinate some chicken and grill it.

To get as hot of a surface as possible, since I don’t have an Indian-style tandoor in my apartment (silly fire codes 😉 ), I turned my oven to max (260C/500F) with a roasting pan inside. I inverted the pan to give a flat surface to grill, threaded my marinated chicken on skewers and laid them on this hot surface. It’s not quite the same as a tandoor, but it’s a good substitute for those of us without rockin’ Indian tandoors!

The resulting chicken tikka tonight made its way on homemade pizza, but it’s awesome with naan bread, rice or tossed in Butter Chicken Sauce.

Quick Chicken Tikka:

3/4 cup/175mL plain yogurt

1/2 cup Sweet Curry Paste

1 Tbsp sweet Hungarian paprika

2 chicken thighs, bone removed and cut each thigh into thirds, leaving the skin on

   Combine the yogurt, Sweet Curry Paste and paprika until smooth. Transfer to a large freezer bag with the chicken pieces. Massage the marinade on the chicken and allow to marinate in the refrigerator for at least 2 hours.

   After marinating, thread each piece on a metal skewer that can go in the oven.

IMG_6529

Preheat oven to 260C/500F with a roasting pan inside.

   When the oven and pan are preheated, bring out the pan, flip it upside down so the bottom, flat surface faces up. If your pan doesn’t have small ridges to capture excess fats, place on a larger baking sheet. Drizzle with just a touch of oil and spread it carefully with a folded paper towel (remember the pan is screaming hot!!). Lay the skewered, marinated chicken on the pan and return to the preheated oven. Roast for 10 minutes. Flip the chicken, return to the oven and roast for another 10 minutes until it’s deeply golden on both sides, with the occasional blackened corners.

IMG_6537

Serves 2 as a main or serves more if it goes on a pizza, like I did with blanched green beans and cayenne/green peppercorn-infused gouda cheese:

IMG_6540

9 comments

  1. What a great idea! I’ll have to try it. But I’ll put it on Basmati rice. 🙂

    • tripleheartbeat · December 13, 2014

      Thanks! Basmati rice sounds good to me! I tend to do crazy pizzas sometimes so tradition is always a good idea 😉

  2. preeteshnair · December 13, 2014

    This looks yummy…. have to try 🙂
    Today planning a different fusion of Chicken minced biryani on my blog. Do follow and try the recipe and let me know how it was 😉

    • tripleheartbeat · December 13, 2014

      Thanks! And your idea for biryani sounds great! Your other recipes look delicious as well! 🙂

      • preeteshnair · December 13, 2014

        Thank you….try my best at doing justice of being a foodie 🙂
        hope my recipe do help you too in cooking differently 😉

      • tripleheartbeat · December 13, 2014

        I loved your recipes from the start. I love Chilli Chicken! Thanks for sharing your blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

