Homemade Sriracha

Why, yes, I do disappear from blogging from time to time. I don’t stop cooking, but sometimes, the act of sitting and blogging eludes me for one reason or another. I could get into the various states of my overall health at times, or how I’ve been helping my brother get through some of his own health battles lately, but everyone has their own problems.

To make up for my absence, I’m making homemade sriracha sauce!

Yes, the rooster bottle that everyone shoots like ketchup on everything is relatively easy to make. If you have your windows and a fan going. The chilli fumes can get a little ferocious so be careful.

I make a lot of my own condiments for several reasons: Firstly, I know the ingredients going in. Next, I feel a closer connection to the product knowing the work that went into it and can respect the efforts of those before me. And finally, and most importantly, it ALWAYS tastes better!!

And of course when you have sriracha in the house, you gotta do a bunch of other stuff with it, so I’m gonna spam-blog a few right away. Enjoy!!

Homemade Sriracha Sauce:

12 long red finger chillis, stems removed and coarsely chopped

14 cloves garlic, peeled and coarsely chopped

2 cups rice vinegar

   Place the chopped chillis, garlic and vinegar in a food processor or blender.

Screen Shot 2015-04-29 at 9.17.25 AM

Purée until smooth. (There will be seeds that never purée, but that’s ok because they’re getting strained anyway. You just want their heat blended into the garlic-chilli mixture)

   Pour the mixture into a strainer fitted over a large bowl.

Screen Shot 2015-04-29 at 9.17.42 AM

Press as much of the mixture through the strainer as possible. Discard the chunks of skin and seeds.

   Pour the smooth purée into a large, wide-bottomed pan over medium heat. Stir constantly for 10-15 minutes or until it reaches a desired thickness (basically, like a ketchup or tomato sauce).

Screen Shot 2015-04-29 at 9.14.40 AM

This is just a small batch, feel free to make a whole load of it when your red chillis are on sale or seasonal where you are. I’m fortunate enough to have greenhouse/nursery growers nearby who grow the most amazing red chillis so I’m going to start doing this more often. With plenty of ventilation. Seriously. The fumes will be like getting hit with pepper spray. Because, duh, that’s what pepper spray is. Concentrated chillis (ie. capsaicin) 😉

Leave a Reply

