Lovage Pesto Egg and Squashed Strawberry Sandwich

While I’m not getting any younger, I’ve been hitting the gym a lot more lately. My metabolism is naturally rather high (I know, I know, I’m deeply sorry), so this means I’ve been making heartier breakfasts. I’ve also been making open-faced sandwiches for awhile as well, so it makes my little Summer of Sandwiches adventure a bit easier.

I’ve always been a fan of breakfast food. Brunch food. Whatever. If it has an egg involved. I’m in. That’s why when I was vegetarian for a good chunk of my twenties, I couldn’t go full vegan. Eggs and cheese are simply perfect nutrition. It’s a matter of finding passionate, caring farmers who treat their animals like pets (“Who’s a good, mother hen….yes you are!! Yes you are!!”)

Ok, I’ll stop talking to my invisible barnyard, leave my spooning time with Bessie til later and get to the sandwich. A super savoury pesto with the celery-like lovage was an idea that came to me when shopping the market last week. I get this herb along with many others from another farmer who has a great variety of herbs bursting at the market right now. Give it a little sweet, slightly tart first of the season strawberries and it’s a perfect combination! Enjoy!

Lovage Pesto Egg and Squashed Strawberry Sandwich

For the Lovage Pesto:

2 tsp flax seeds

1/4 cup cold pressed oil (I use a camelina oil, but a cold pressed/extra virgin olive oil would be great)

1/4 cup grated pecorino

1/2 cup packed fresh lovage leaves

   In a small dry pan over medium heat, add the flax seeds and toast for 2-3 minutes, swirling the pan over the heat occasionally. Remove from heat and transfer the toasted flax seeds to a blender or food processor. Add the oil, pecorino cheese and lovage. Purée for 30 seconds or so until mostly smooth. Set aside.

For the Lovage Pesto Egg and Squashed Strawberry Sandwich:

2 Tbsp Reserved Lovage Pesto

2 large eggs

1 tsp cold pressed oil + 1 tsp butter

10-12 fresh strawberries, stems trimmed off

1/4 tsp black pepper

2 slices Black Russian rye bread (or any rye bread)

   Toast the rye bread and set aside.

   In a medium bowl, mash the strawberries with a fork until broken down, but still chunky. Season with black pepper and set aside.

   Whisk together the eggs and pesto until smooth. Set aside.

   Preheat a nonstick pan over medium heat. Add the oil and butter. When the butter has melted and started to sizzle. Add the pesto eggs to the pan and start to shake and stir the eggs in the pan. As the eggs start to coagulate use a rubber spatula to fold the scrambling eggs over itself. Once the eggs are about 3/4 of the way cooked, turn off the heat entirely. Shake, stir and fold for another 15 seconds or so.

   Pull the pan off the heating element of your stove. Spread the squashed strawberries over the toasted rye bread. Divide the scrambled pesto eggs over the two slices of rye bread. Serves 2.

   Note: With any open-faced sandwich, feel free to add another slice of bread on top to make it a full sandwich. I’ve just been on an open-faced kick lately and to be honest, they are easier to take a pic of haha.

IMG_0189

Leave a Reply

