Pulled Pork Club Sandwich with Creamy Spiced Rhubarb Dressing

While I do a lot of cooking (read as 99.999999999999% of the time), the rare occasion that I buy food, I like to buy from others who are as passionate about food as I am. And in the summer heat, it’s nice to have a reprieve from the heat of the kitchen.

One such passionate person that I buy from specializes in Southern US-style BBQ: pulled pork, BBQ sauces, baked beans, etc. And while I do enjoy my recipe for slow cooker pulled pork (and incidentally, it’s by far my most popular blog post), like I said, it’s nice to have someone passionate to give me “real deal, low n slow” pulled pork. I mean really, look at this pic from his Facebook page

biggpulledpork

I wanted to make a beast of a sandwich today with his gorgeous pulled pork. but feel free to use any pulled pork from your local passionate BBQ joint or give my slow cooker pulled pork recipe a whirl.

I’m also topping today’s sandwich with the best bacon I can buy. A local organic farmer who cures and smokes all of his bacon, sausages and ham without nitrates. Its flavour is untouchable and I don’t get those crazy nitrate headaches anymore. Plus the man is the kindest person you can meet. And a fellow Hungarian, so we also bond over Hungarian treats 🙂

Finally, a club sandwich, as far as I’m concerned, is a triple decker. From my pub kitchen days, layering meat and lettuce on one layer with bacon and tomato on the other is imperative. I see “club sandwiches” on a baguette or hoagie roll or kaiser bun or slider and I just wanna shout at these people “It’s not a club!!! Quit masquerading!!! Fraud!!!” but then get my wits together and think, “They’re trying their best. Just enjoy their sandwich and don’t make a fist or it’ll get bruise-y….”

But really, enjoy this monster club….then eat nothing but fruit and veggies for days after because you’ll have your dietary requirement for animal protein for a week!!

Ultimately, food is about joy. It’s okay to feast like a king from time to time!! 🙂

Pulled Pork Club Sandwich with Creamy Spiced Rhubarb Dressing:

For the Creamy Spiced Rhubarb Dressing:

1/2 tsp oil

1 tsp, each, coriander seeds and mustard seeds

1 clove garlic, peeled and minced

2 cups fresh rhubarb, chopped

1/4 cup raw cane sugar (or your favourite sweetener. Just don’t use the artificial stuff. That stuff will kill you)

1/4 cup rice vinegar

1/4 cup water

1/3 cup plain yogurt

   In a medium pot over medium high heat, add the oil, coriander and mustard seeds. Swirl the pan over the heat to toast the seeds and as they start to “pop” add the garlic, rhubarb, sugar, vinegar and water. Reduce the heat to medium and simmer for 12-15 minutes until the rhubarb is softened and most of the liquid component has reduced. Take off the heat, transfer to a bowl and cool completely.

   Stir the yogurt into the cooled rhubarb mixture and set aside.

For the Pulled Pork Club Sandwich with Creamy Spiced Rhubarb Dressing:

12 slices whole wheat sandwich bread, toasted

12 slices bacon, fried until crisp

450g/1 lb pulled pork

1/2 cup of your favourite BBQ sauce (I used the Liquid Gold variety from my friend at Big G Foods, but any good store bought or homemade BBQ sauce is great)

100g/4 oz leaf lettuce or butter lettuce

8 cocktail tomatoes or 4 medium tomatoes, thickly sliced

Prepared Creamy Spiced Rhubarb Dressing

   Add the pulled pork, BBQ sauce and 1/3 cup of water to a medium pot over medium high heat. Pull and stir the pulled pork to coat it in BBQ sauce. Simmer for a few minutes to allow the liquid component to reduce and thicken. Set aside and keep warm.

   Spread the Creamy Spiced Rhubarb Dressing over all of the toasted whole wheat sandwich bread. Divide the lettuce over 4 of the slices. Spoon over the heated, sauced pulled pork on top of the lettuce. Top with a dressed, toasted slice of bread. Add a few slices of tomatoes and three slices of bacon to each sandwich. Top with the remaining toasted bread with the dressed side down. Slice in quarters and serve like a Southern feast!! Serves 4 (maybe….it’s really damn good!!)

IMG_0191

Leave a Reply

